Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript
64

HALF A MILLION VOTES

And millions more moments of love
64

As the polls closed on Saturday in both Guam and the U.S. Virgin Islands, the presidential primary season came to an end. Having participated in those elections, the end of the season marks a transitional point in my life as well.

The U.S. political system should not be, and does not have to be, as corrupt as it is. The dichotomy between the decency of the American people (the kind of goodness on display in the video above) and the electoral process as it now exists, is very sad to me. I think politics should be an act of collective creativity, and a chance for all of us to make the world a better place. In fact, my experiences running for president twice have assured me that it’s not only possible - it’s what the American people by and large would want.

Share

But the forces arrayed against that are huge. Our politics is in the grip of a greedy matrix that has turned Washington into a system of legalized bribery. And I learned first hand what that system will do to someone who has the audacity to challenge it. Our political and media establishment have seemingly no recognition of their sacred responsibility to facilitate the will of the people. The goal of that system is not democracy, but power; its operatives seek to damage anyone not a part of their club. 

I don’t want to write or speak further about the details of that - at least not yet. And I’m thrilled to now transition back to my work as an author and teacher. The book I wrote before my campaign, THE MYSTIC JESUS, is published now - I have spoken of it here already - and you’ll hear more in the coming days. My work has always been for me a single endeavor, whether we’re talking about peace in our hearts or peace on the planet.

I know some people think politics and spirituality are opposites, but they shouldn’t be. Gandhi said “politics should be sacred,” by which he didn’t mean dogmatic or doctrinaire but rather coming from a deep soulfulness. And I agree. Thomas Jefferson wrote his own Bible, remember! And no one can read Lincoln’s Second Inaugural and not see references to God’s will all over it.

The separation of Church and State was never intended to suppress the spiritual or even religious conversation; in fact it was meant to protect it. The First Amendment protects the government from encroachment by religious authorities, and protects religion from encroachment by governmental authorities. But neither should ever be separate from love.

Reading Mahatma Gandhi and Martin Luther King, Jr., I became deeply inspired by the idea that political change could lead to what King called “the establishment of the beloved community.” (You can read more about that in my book Healing the Soul of America ) And I still am. In politics there are people dedicated to some very dark pursuits. But there are also people with such beautiful hearts that I can scarcely contain my gratitude for having had the chance to know them.

That is what I want to take way from my experience running for president. Not the lies or injustices or corruption of our politics. What I want to remember are the moments of love. And they were there. From donors sending their support, to volunteers spending countless hours trying to rally voters, to staff members who were there for all the right reasons, to advisors and friends who shared the vision, I have memories that live and breathe in my heart and will remain forever.

As a writer, thinker, philosopher, and political activist whatever that might mean in my future, my prayer is that somehow what I have been through will make me a better woman - and thus better at all of them. Through it all, I remain convinced that many miracles lie ahead.

64 Comments
TRANSFORM with Marianne Williamson
Marianne Williamson's Substack
From MarianneWilliamson.Substack.com